Free customer Click and Collect at the Covenanter Bookshop is available at checkout. Shipping will be charged at check out
Cart 0
Collected Sermons Of James Durham Vol.1 61 Sermons HB

Collected Sermons Of James Durham Vol.1 61 Sermons HB

By: James Durham

£39.99 £43.99
Product Details
Publisher Reformation Heritage Books
Year 2017
ISBN 9781601785565

English Puritanism and Scottish Presbyterianism in the 17th century had many bright and shining lights. Of these, James Durham (1622–1658), ranks alongside the greatest for his theological depth, faithful preaching, and particularly for his moderate spirit at a time of great controversy. “No Scotchman of that age was more profoundly venerated” (Walker). Durham, whose father and grandfather served the king as Clerk of Exchequer, was seemingly destined to the life of a Scottish laird, yet through several remarkable providence's he came to study for the ministry under David Dickson, and did so well that it is said he could have served as a professor of divinity in any university. Yet, Durham’s brief ministry was spent preaching for the most part in the Inner-Kirk of Glasgow Cathedral. He came to excel in ‘case divinity’ or ‘cases of conscience,’ and it was thought that he poured so much of himself into his preparations that it brought about his early death. Collected Sermons of James Durham: Sixty-one Sermons. This volume con-tains sermons series on “The Blessedness of the Death of Those That Die in the Lord,” “The Unsearchable Riches of Christ” (communion sermons), “Heaven upon Earth” (on conscience), “The Great Gain of Contenting Godliness,” “The Great Corruption of Subtle Self,” as well as miscellaneous sermons that appeared in various publications. The last includes a recent transcription from manuscript of one of Durham’s most important sermons preached at the beginning of the Protester-Resolutioner schism in Scotland. All have been uniformly edited, crossed referenced as needed, and a new, invaluable introduction covering the life and works of Durham is included.

Share this Product

More from this collection